Twitter … Why Not?

A couple of posts ago I shared a footnote about the power of Twitter in my professional world. I admit it took me a while to see the value of Twitter but now I can’t champion the cause enough.

I ‘follow’ 140 tweeters, mostly educators.   We share our thoughts on teaching, world events and, yes even life! We share resources and strategies that can be used in our classrooms. We help each other to solve problems. We challenge each other to  become better teachers.  They are my PLN (personal or professional learning network).

Last night while checking my twitterstream I noticed a common hashtag #edcamphilly appearing so I clicked on it. I discovered the back channel at a conference and before long I was following and participating in Edcampphilly and Edcampchicago.

At 1:00 am in Australia, from the comfort of my own lounge room, I was inspired by teachers from the other side of the world while they shared their experiences at this conference.  This morning I have a number of new people to follow and websites to investigate.

So, again, I say to you … As a professional educator, if you aren’t on Twitter it’s time you asked yourself why!

Posted on May 22, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

